Out to Lunch @ City Museum and Records (3 – 26 August)

August 3, 2010toAugust 26, 2010

familyfunPortsmouth City Museum have set up a series of fabulous free family events to keep you entertained throughout August. From children’s entertainers to craft and birds of prey there is always plenty to do.

All events are from 12.00pm to 2.00pm on Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays. There are no age limits and they suggest that for craft activities, if your child is under five, you come along and then decide whether it suitable for them.

And then why not look round the museum before or after the event?

Here is the full listings of great events on offer:

Tuesday 3 August
Nolan Davies – Children’s entertainer

Wednesday 4 August
Make a spaceship – Craft activity

Thursday 5 August
Crazy M the Clown

Tuesday 10 August
The Amazing Mr Tall – Magic show

Plus – a special treat for all budding archaeologists!
Hampshire and Wight Trust for Maritime Archaeology’s maritime bus will be visiting. It has interactive displays, models, games, hands-on activities and even a digital microscope – all related to the Trust’s work in underwater archaeology.

There will also be a display of maritime objects from the museum’s collections, and a demonstration of steam-driven “putt putt” boats in the garden.

Maritime Bus on site 11.00am – 3.00pm, free admission.

Wednesday 11 August
Model moon and planets – Craft activity

Thursday 12 August
Make an alien mask – Craft activity

Tuesday 17 August
Punch and Judy – Traditional puppet shows

Wednesday 18 August
Make a robot – Craft activity

Thursday 19 August
Xtreme Falconry – Meet the birds of prey

Tuesday 24 August
Circus Skills – Tightrope skills and more

alienfaceup2rgb_smWednesday 25 August
Meet the Aliens – Craft activity plus face painter. Come in fancy dress as a Sci-Fi character and you could win a prize. To make your costume, you might want to attend their event at The Learning Place on Tuesdays 3, 10 and 17 August. Find out more here.

Thursday 26 August
Miller’s Ark Farm – Meet the farm animals and pets


To find out more, visit www.portsmouthmuseums.co.uk