Theatre – ‘For The Best’ at Unicorn Theatre (2 to 21 June)

June 2, 2009toJune 21, 2009


For The Best tells the stories of children attending the hospital school on the Dialysis Unit of the Evelina Children’s Hospital.  Developed over 9 months with the young people, their parents, primary school children, artists and performers.  For The Best leads the audience on a journey beyond the stage into the wings, corridors and backstage of the Unicorn, past startling images and moments of breathtaking beauty.

“Being on dialysis is like having a second family, a haemo family. It is like being in a washing machine. Your blood is put through a four hour rinse cycle and you come out squeaky clean. It can also drive you mad. I am a tiger; a roaring, angry, shouting tiger. Being on dialysis means you can get bored out of your skull, but a wandering mind can travel for miles and miles and miles and there are no limits to the imagination. It’s difficult being a princess when you’re often sick”.

Crossing the boundaries of art and science, For the Best turns the Unicorn inside out and upside down. It explores how we live within the limits of our bodies and minds and, ultimately, transcend them.

Created to be experienced by everyone aged 6 and above.

Conceived by Mark Storor
Produced by Anna Ledgard in association with Artsadmin
Created in association with Worple Primary School, Hounslow and Charles Dickens Primary School, Southwark.
Funded by a Wellcome Trust Award

Times & Prices
Full Price: £10
Concessions: £7.50 (under 19, students, unwaged)
School Groups: £6
Family Ticket (4 tickets, at least 1 of whom is a child): £28

Tue 2 Jun 1.45pm
Wed 3 Jun 10.45am & 1.45pm
Thu 4 Jun 1.45pm & 7.00pm
Fri 5 Jun 7.00pm
Sat 6 Jun 10.45am, 3.00pm & 7.00pm
Sun 7 Jun 3.00pm & 5.00pm
Tue 9 Jun 10.45am & 1.45pm
Wed 10 Jun 10.45am & 1.45pm
Thu 11 Jun 1.45pm & 7.00pm
Fri 12 Jun 7.00pm
Sat 13 Jun 10.45am, 3.00pm & 7.00pm
Sun 14 Jun 3.00pm & 5.00pm
Tue 16 Jun 10.45am & 1.45pm
Wed 17 Jun 10.45am & 1.45pm
Thu 18 Jun 1.45pm & 7.00pm
Fri 19 Jun 7.00pm
Sat 20 Jun 10.45am, 3.00pm & 7.00pm
Sun 21 Jun 3.00pm & 5.00pm

Click for more information on the Unicorn Theatre