Monte-Carlo Rally (29 Jan- 3 Feb)

Dating back to January 1988, drivers now consider this rally the number one winter historic road race. It attracts increasing numbers of amateurs and former Monte-Carlo Rally drivers, keen to experience the legendary circuit for themselves. A selection committee has been set up to choose the 330 or so cars authorised to set off from the Concentration Stages.

The Concentration Stages consist of four European cities, each of which launches its own stage of the Historic Rally:, Oslo, Reims, Barcelona, Turin. The cars assemble in Monte Carlo, where they face the ‘Classification Leg’ between Monaco and Valence (about 500km) and regularity trials on the historic track. The whole event culminates in a glamorous black-tie gala dinner.

Elgibile cars must be the same models as those that took part in the Monte-Carlo Rally between 1955 and 1980. The cars are divided into classes by date of manufacture: pre-1961; 1962-65; 1966-71; 1972-79.

Find out more