Top 10 Facts

From the Tudors to rocks to fish, we have all the best facts right here!

More From Top 10 Facts

Top 10 Facts About The Ashes!

Do you want to learn about The Ashes? Well you've come to the right place! Check out these 10 facts...

Cricket is a fantastic sport enjoyed by many around the world, and one of its most thrilling rivalries is called “The Ashes.” The Ashes is a series played between England and Australia, and it has a fascinating history. Let’s explore the Top 10 Facts about The Ashes!

1. The Origin of The Ashes has a funny story!

The Ashes gets its name from a funny story.

In 1882, a newspaper in England said that English cricket had “died” after losing to Australia.

The article mentioned that the ashes of the cricket equipment would be taken to Australia.

That’s how the famous rivalry got its name!

Embed from Getty Images

2. The trophy is called the Ashes Urn.

The winning team in The Ashes series gets a special trophy called the Ashes Urn.

It’s a small, symbolic trophy that looks like a tiny urn.

Inside, it is said to contain the ashes of a burnt cricket bail.

The trophy is kept at a cricket museum in London.

Embed from Getty Images

3. The Ashes usually has five matches!

The Ashes is played in a format called Test cricket.

Test matches can go on for up to five days! Each team gets two chances to bat and bowl.

The series usually has five matches, and they take turns playing in England and Australia.

Embed from Getty Images

4. The Ashes have been played since 1882.

The Ashes has a long history!

England and Australia have both had their moments of success.

So far, Australia has won the series 34 times, while England has won 33 times. They have also had 5 series that ended in a draw.

Embed from Getty Images

5. Lots of famous cricket players have played.

Many cricketing legends have played in The Ashes series.

Players like Sir Donald Bradman, Sir Ian Botham, Ricky Ponting, and Alastair Cook have made their mark.

These talented athletes have shown amazing skills and made the matches even more exciting to watch!

6. There have been some amazing cricket whitewashes!

A “whitewash” in cricket means that one team wins all the matches in a series.

The Ashes has seen some famous whitewashes!

In 2006-2007, Australia won all five matches, and in 2013-2014, England did the same.

These were historic moments in the series.

Learn about Sports Technology with Techno Mum!

Embed from Getty Images

7. The Ashes is called the “Ashes Down Under” when played in Australia.

When the Ashes series is played in Australia, it’s called the “Ashes Down Under”.

The pitches in Australia are known for being fast and bouncy, making the matches even more challenging and thrilling.

Embed from Getty Images

8. The rivalry is intense!

The rivalry between England and Australia in The Ashes is intense but friendly.

Fans from both countries cheer for their teams and enjoy the exciting matches.

They wear their team colours and love to show their support. It’s all part of the fun!

Embed from Getty Images

9. In the Women’s Ashes they play different types of cricket.

Just like the men’s series, there is also a Women’s Ashes.

The women’s version is played between England and Australia and includes different types of cricket matches.

Make sure to watch and see the talented female cricketers competing.

Embed from Getty Images

10. There’s lots of values to learn from The Ashes!

The Ashes teaches us important values like teamwork, sportsmanship, and determination.

It shows us that even in a tough rivalry, players can respect and appreciate eachother’s skills.

Watch The Ashes and get inspired to play the game with passion and fairness.

Embed from Getty Images

Add a comment

Top 10 Facts

From the Tudors to rocks to fish, we have all the best facts right here!

More From Top 10 Facts