Top 10 Facts

From the Tudors to rocks to fish, we have all the best facts right here!

More From Top 10 Facts

Top 10 Facts About The Commonwealth!

Do you want to learn about the Commonwealth? Well you've come to the right place! Check out these 10 facts about the Commonwealth...

The Commonwealth is an international organisation of 54 countries that work together to promote democracy, human rights and development. Many of these countries have a shared history that dates back to the British Empire. Here are 10 facts about the Commonwealth that you may not have known. From the organisation’s rich history to its modern day importance, these facts will help you gain a better understanding of the Commonwealth.

1. The Commonwealth originated from the British Empire.

Lots of countries were once ruled by Britain. It was called the British Empire.

When these countries started to become independent, they still had a link to the United Kingdom.

The countries still wanted to remain friends, so this is how the Commonwealth started.

Below you can see the British Empire in 1883.

Embed from Getty Images

2. The Commonwealth started in 1926.

The Commonwealth first started in 1926.

This is when it changed from the British Empire to the Commonwealth.

It was at a conference where it was agreed that certain countries would still have the Queen as their Head of State, however the United Kingdom did not rule over them.

This was when they changed the British Empire to the ‘British Commonwealth of Nations’.

3. Around one third of the world is in the Commonwealth.

It’s not just us in the Commonwealth.

Around one third of the world is a part of it!

There are around 2.5 billion people in Commonwealth countries.

Embed from Getty Images

Learn all about sports technology below!

4. There are 54 countries in the Commonwealth.

Did you know that 54 countries are in the Commonwealth?

They are:

Botswana, Cameroon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles,Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom, Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Find out more about countries all over the world here!

5. The Monarch is the Head of the Commonwealth.

The Queen was the Head of the Commonwealth until her death in 2022. She had been for over 60 years.

Now, Charles is King and he’s not just the King of the UK…

He is the King of some of the countries listed above.

These countries include Australia and Canada!

Embed from Getty Images

6. Commonwealth Day is held on 14th March.

Commonwealth Day is celebrated every year, usually on the second Monday of March.

It is celebrated in all of the Commonwealth countries around the world.

There is a service at Westminster Abbey in London which the Monarch attends.

Embed from Getty Images

7. In 1971 the Declaration of Commonwealth Principles were released.

In 1971, the Declaration of Commonwealth Principles were released.

The principles said that we should support international peace and understanding, have equal rights for all citizens and remove poverty, ignorance and disease.

8. It used to be known as the ‘British Commonwealth of Nations’.

At the start, the Commonwealth was known as ‘British Commonwealth of Nations’.

It is now just known as the ‘Commonwealth’ or ‘Commonwealth of Nations’.

Embed from Getty Images

9. 60% of people in the Commonwealth are aged 29 or under!

Did you know that 60% of people in the Commonwealth are aged 29 or under?!

That is out of around 2.5 billion people…

We must be a young bunch!

10. The Commonwealth Games is a sports event held every four years.

The Commonwealth Games is also known as the Friendly Games.

We like the sound of that!

It’s a sports event where all of the countries in the Commonwealth compete against each other.

It’s held every four years.

In 2022 the games are being held in Birmingham!

Find out about sports technology.

Embed from Getty Images

Send us your favourite facts!

Is there something we've missed? Got a fact you're dying to tell us? Submit it below and we could use it on a future Top 10 Facts page!Β 

Remember to always ask an adult before filling out forms online.

PODMAIL: Top 10 Facts

To record a message tap the big red button below. Your browser may ask permission to access the microphone, just accept this.


Add a comment

Top 10 Facts

From the Tudors to rocks to fish, we have all the best facts right here!

More From Top 10 Facts