Australia win the Ashes series, defeating England 4-0!

England haven't won since 2011...

Host-nation Australia have won the Ashes series 4-0 after defeating England in the final Test.

That means the English team has lost and won’t be coming home with the trophy.

The last time England won a Test in Australia was 2011.

By the time England returns to the country in 2021 to play again, they will have not won a Test there in more than a decade.

Speaking of his victory, Australia’s Captain Steve Smith said:

So much work goes in behind the scenes to ensure we’ve got the right side and we’re doing everything we can to win games of cricket. 
I think 4-0 is a pretty fair reflection of how the games have gone.

After Australia won the Ashes series, a backdrop was unveiled which featured a hand wearing the Australian flag colours, holding up four fingers.

England’s hand held up zero, indicating the score.

Click here to read more sport news!

By the time the fifth set was finished, Australia won by an innings and 123 runs.

Only the forth set resulted in a draw, with Australia winning by 10 wickets; 120 runs; and an innings and 41 runs, in their other sets.

Add a comment